Five Yorkshire towns to receive share of £610 million fund to boost economies after pandemic

A total of 26 towns across England have been allocated a share of the government's Towns Fund.

Dewsbury town centre
Dewsbury town centre

The money, which comes from the £3.6 billion Towns Fund unveiled in July 2019, is intended to kickstart urban regeneration and boost green transport infrastructure, tourism and jobs.

It is also intended for education and vocational training courses, the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG) said.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Brighouse will receive £19.1 million, it was announced, while Dewsbury will get £24.8 million, and Doncaster has been allocated £24.8 million.

Redcar is due to get £25 million, and Rotherham in South Yorkshire has been earmarked for £31.6 million.

The cash was allocated through a series of “towns deals” which sets out how the money will be spent following proposals submitted by the local council.

The £24.8 million allocated to Doncaster will be spent on upgrading Doncaster Station Gateway and the surrounding area by creating green transport links such as cycle lanes and walking routes.

It will also be spent on commercial spaces to boost footfall and private sector investment in the town centre, MHCLG said.

In Hastings, East Sussex, some of the £24.3 million it received will be spent on a “low carbon centre of excellence” to provide new commercial space, a well as on renovations to the castle.

Hartlepool, County Durham, received £25 million, some of which will be spent on a new health and care academy and a civil engineering institute as part of a long-term plan to boost higher skilled jobs in the area.

Communities Secretary Robert Jenrick said: “We are levelling up towns and cities across the country by building stronger and more resilient local economies, boosting prosperity and opportunity in our communities, and helping them build back better from the pandemic.”

He continued: “Today’s announcement means that 79 towns deals have now been agreed – totalling over £2 billion investment in communities across England

“Building successful, thriving communities is at the heart of the Government’s levelling up agenda,” Mr Jenrick said.

“As well as creating town centres that people want to work, rest and play in, the Government is delivering the homes that people need where they need them, making home ownership a reality for many young people and key workers in the places they want to live.”

Elsewhere in the north of England, Cleator Moor in Cumbria has been awarded £22.5 million and Oldham in Greater Manchester will receive £24.4 million.

Bishop Auckland and Hartlepool, both in County Durham, will get £33.2 million and £25 million respectively.

In the Midlands, Ashfield in Nottinghamshire will get £62.6 million; Corby in Northamptonshire will receive £19.9 million; Hereford in Herefordshire is due £22.4 million, while Long Eaton in Derbyshire has been awarded £24.8 million.

Loughborough in Leicestershire will get £16.9 million; Newcastle-under-Lyme in Staffordshire was awarded £23.6 million; Redditch in Worcestershire will receive £15.6 million, while Stapleford in Nottinghamshire will get £21.1 million.

Telford in Shropshire will get £22.3 million; Walsall in Staffordshire will receive £21.3 million, while Worcester in Worcestershire is due £19.6 million.

In the east of England, Bedford in Bedfordshire will get £22.6 million, and King’s Lynn in Norfolk will get £25 million.

In south-west England, Bridgwater and Glastonbury, both in Somerset, will get £22.6 million and £23.6 million respectively, while in the South East, Hastings in East Sussex will get £24.3 million.