Contrasting fortunes for the Cup finalists

Whitley Hall enjoyed a convincing win at Norton Oakes in the Premier Division.

The Whitworth Cup finalists reached 256-6 thanks to a 152-run stand between Jim Tasker (83) and Sam Chatterton (76). Norton were dismissed for 152 in spite of Matt Burgin making 55 and Chris Baker 44 as Jaco Castle struck with 4-40 and Jim Tasker 3-15.

Final opponents Treeton were beaten at Wath, closing on 
208-7 as Scott Cunningham made 51 and Gareth Davis 44. Rob Barlow claimed 5-47 for Wath, who answered with 209-4, opener Derek Mitchell’s half-century being followed by unbeaten knocks of 70 and 37 from Sam Drury and Rob Barlow, respectively.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Darfield made 219, Ahmad Yar making an unbeaten 55 and Ali Khan 44 before Aston Hall fell for 96, Paul Wilkinson bagging 5-34.

Elsecar had six wickets to spare after passing Hallam’s 132, of which Mark Williams made 65. The main men for the champions were Shahzad Rana (5-42), Luke Townsend (3-38) and Ainsley Swallow (42).

Tickhill had Whiston out for 161, the wickets shared between James Stuart and Alex Rowland, but had to fight to win at 163-9, James Stuart striking 48.

Wickersley whipped out Coal Aston for 66, with four wickets each for Lesroy Weekes and Muhammad Naveed, and won by eight wickets.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Thorncliffe’s Simon Anson hit the highest score of the season, his 165 including 27 boundaries, as they made 305-6, against Mexborough (107) in Division Four.

Houghton Main opener Pete Colbourne included 17 boundaries in his 101 in the Division One win over Wath; Phoenix’s Chris Longley hit 119 in the Division Two win at Sheffield United, and young Jack Roberts cracked 125, with 21 boundaries, in Wickersley’s Division Two win at Aston Hall.

Related topics: