Revealed - Yorkshire CCC’s 2021 Vitality t20 Blast and Royal London Cup fixtures

YORKSHIRE’S white-ball fixtures for the season have been announced, with the club returning to York for two 50-over games.

Clifton Park, pictured hosting the Yorkshire v Warwickshire County Championship clash in June 2019, will host two Royal London Cup games in 2021. Picture: Bruce Rollinson

Yorkshire take on Warwickshire at the Clifton Park ground on August 3 and host Nottinghamshire there on August 6.

It follows the successful staging of the County Championship match against Warwickshire in 2019 when first-class cricket returned to York for the first time since 1890.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Yorkshire’s other two home games in the 50-over Royal London Cup (a competition that will be played at the same time as The Hundred) are at Scarborough, against Surrey on July 22 and against Northamptonshire on July 28.

GAME ON: Yorkshire Vikings celebrate a wicket in last year's Vitality Blast clash against Notts Outlaws at Trent Bridge. Picture by Ash Allen/SWpix.com -

The showpiece T20 Roses fixtures will take place at Emerald Headingley on July 2 and at Old Trafford on July 17.

Mark Arthur, the Yorkshire chief executive, said the club had successfully negotiated with the England and Wales Cricket Board for a later date for the Headingley T20 Roses match.

“Originally, it was scheduled for early June, but because we wanted to give ourselves the best possible opportunity of having a full house, we asked the ECB to push it back into July,” he said. “Every week is going to count with regards to the possibility of having full houses.”

That match is Yorkshire’s only home T20 game in the last 22 days of a group stage that ends on July 18. Yorkshire play their other six home matches over a 17-day period from and including June 10.

Yorkshire would be unable to have a home T20 quarter-final as the dates clash with the Headingley Test.

However, as Arthur quipped: “Oh to be in a quarter-final whether it’s home or away.”

Fixtures:

Vitality t20 blast

Thu June 10 v Birmingham (Headingley, floodlit); Fri June 11 v Durham (Riverside, floodlit); Tue June 15 v Leics (Headingley, floodlit); Wed June 16 v Worcs (New Road); Fri June 18 v Durham (Headingley, floodlit); Sun June 20 v Derbys (Headingley); Wed June 23 v Worcs (Headingley, floodlit); Fri June 25 v Leics (Grace Road, floodlit); Sat June 26 v Northants (Headingley); Wed June 30 v Birmingham (Edgbaston, floodlit); Fri July 2 v Lancs (Headingley, floodlit, Sky TV); Fri July 9 v Notts (Trent Bridge, floodlit); Sat July 17 v Lancs (Old Trafford, Sky TV); Sun July 18 v Derbys (Chesterfield); Tue Aug 24-Fri Aug 27 Quarter-finals (TBC); Sat Sep 18 Finals Day (Edgbaston).

Royal London Cup

Thu July 22 v Surrey (Scarborough); Sun July 25 v Leics (Grace Road); Wed July 28 v Northants (Scarborough); Sun Aug 1 v Somerset (Taunton); Tue Aug 3 v Warks (York); Fri Aug 6 v Notts (York); Sun Aug 8 v Derbys (Chesterfield); Thu Aug 12 v Glamorgan (Cardiff); Sat Aug 14 Quarter-finals (TBC); Tue Aug 17 Semi-finals (TBC); Thu Aug 19 Final (Trent Bridge).

Support The Yorkshire Post and become a subscriber today. Your subscription will help us to continue to bring quality news to the people of Yorkshire. In return, you’ll see fewer ads on site, get free access to our app and receive exclusive members-only offers. Click HERE to subscribe.