Sheffield United 0 Scunthorpe United 4: Blades flattened as Iron steam in

CHRIS DAGNALL scored twice as Scunthorpe put the departure of manager Nigel Adkins behind them with a stunning victory over Sheffield United.

The Iron – who lost Adkins to League One Southampton on Sunday – were on the back foot for long periods at Bramall Lane but eventually ran out convincing winners.

Dagnall opened the scoring in the first half with a powerful low shot, although the striker did appear to have controlled the ball with his arm before firing past Steve Simonsen.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

David Mirfin headed a second for Scunthorpe after the interval before further goals from Dagnall, capitalising on Nyron Nosworthy's untimely slip, and Martyn Woolford from a poor Simonsen clearance rubbed salt into the Blades' wounds.

The margin of defeat was harsh on the hosts, who struck the woodwork twice in the first half, saw two goalbound headers cleared off the line and also had a goal disallowed after the break.

But that will matter little to Scunthorpe caretaker boss Ian Baraclough, who can only have enhanced his chances of claiming the club's managerial reins on a permanent basis.

It was Gary Speed's men who started the quicker and they could have taken an early lead after good work from Stephen Jordan, but Jamie Ward's low shot thudded into the base of the post. United rattled the woodwork again soon after as Ched Evans's low shot hit the post and deflected to safety.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Richard Cresswell squandered a good chance after Dagnall's opener moments before Kyle Bartley's header was superbly cleared off the line.

United also had a goal chalked off when Johannes Ertl volleyed home but referee Neil Swarbrick spotted an infringement in the Scunthorpe area.

Sheffield United: Simonsen, Calve, Bartley, Nosworthy, Jordan, Ward, Montgomery (Yeates 64), Britton, Cresswell, Ertl, Evans (Bogdanovic 79). Unused: Aksalu, Morgan, Taylor, Quinn, Lowton.

Scunthorpe United: Murphy, Byrne, Mirfin, Canavan, Nolan, Togwell, Collins, Josh Wright (Raynes 87), O'Connor (Woolford 70), Dagnall (Grant 84), Forte. Unused: Slocombe, Andrew Wright, Godden, McClenahan.

Referee: N Swarbrick (Lancashire).