Rugby World Cup 2023: fixtures, full schedule and when tickets for the France tournament go on sale

Beaten 2019 finalists England will be looking to go one better at RWC 2023 as the world's top 20 international teams battle it out for the Webb Ellis Cup

The full match schedule for the Rugby World Cup in 2023 has been announced, with hosts France kicking the tournament off against New Zealand at the Stade de France.

Competition organisers want to celebrate 200 years of rugby over a eight-week festival of action which will see the world's best players and international teams do battle for the Webb Ellis Cup.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Read More

Read More
When will golf courses open? Date you may be able to play golf again in England ...
The Rugby Union World Cup trophy, the Webb Ellis Cup, is pictured in Paris. (Pic: Getty Images)

Six Nations rivals England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Italy and of course France have been drawn across four pools, which will see the top two teams qualify for the quarter finals.

France 2023 will be the 10th Rugby World Cup.

Read on for the tournament's format, ticket information, groups and the full schedule...

What is the Rugby World Cup 2023 format?

The next Rugby World Cup will take place in France between 8 September and 21 October 2023 across 10 cities.

Twelve teams have already qualified for the tournament, with the remaining eight teams to be finalised by November 2022.

The tournament will see four groups of five teams with the top two from each qualifying for the quarter-finals. There will be two semi-final matches, a final and a third place play-off.

World Rugby Chairman, Sir Bill Beaumont, said: “The match schedule announcement is the moment when the tournament truly comes alive for fans all around the world and is an exciting milestone on the road to Rugby World Cup France 2023.

"It has been developed with teams and fans at heart and we are confident it will provide the best possible platform for a thrilling, historic and very special Rugby World Cup in the sport’s 200th year.

"I would like to thank our friends at the France 2023 Organising Committee for their efforts in building the most fair and equitable RWC match schedule ever. I know I speak for fans around the world when I say that 2023 cannot come fast enough!”

What are the current standings?

As of 15 February 2021, South Africa top the men's world rankings.

The Springboks are followed by New Zealand in second, England in third, France in fourth, Australia in fifth, Ireland in sixth, Wales in seventh, Scotland in eighth, Argentina in ninth and Japan in 10th.

When do Rugby World Cup 2023 tickets go on sale?

Tickets for the Rugby World Cup are due to go on general sale from 6 April 2021.

Fans who have signed up to the 2023 Family through the Rugby World Cup France 2023 website will have access to all ticket packs from 5pm on 18 March 2021.

Mastercard are offering its cardholders priority access to tickets while specific packages have been made available from 15 March 2021.

Tickets will be released in phases, with 2.6 million tickets made available for the entire tournament, as organisers expect a high demand of interest.

Sign up HERE.

What are the Rugby World Cup 2023 groups?

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Americas 1, Africa 1

Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia / Pacific 1, Europe 2

Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Europe 1, Final Qualifier Winner

Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania 1, Americas 2

What are the Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures?

The tournament will begin with hosts France taking on New Zealand on 8 September 2023.

For the full Rugby World Cup 2023 schedule, including all fixtures and dates, see below:


Sept 8 - France v New Zealand

Sept 9 - Italy v Africa 1

Sept 14 - France v Americas 1

Sept 15 - New Zealand v Africa 1

Sept 20 - Italy v Americas 1

Sept 21 - France v Africa 1

Sept 27 - Americas 1 v Africa 1

Sept 29 - New Zealand v Italy

Oct 5 - New Zealand v Americas 1

Oct 6 - France v Italy


Sept 9 - Ireland v Europe 2

Sept 10 - South Africa v Scotland

Sept 16 - Ireland v Asia/Pacific 1

Sept 17 - South Africa v Europe 2

Sept 23 - South Africa v Ireland

Sept 24 - Scotland v Asia/Pacific 1

Sept 30 - Scotland v Europe 2

Oct 1 - South Africa v Asia/Pacific 1

Oct 7 - Ireland v Scotland

Oct 8 - Asia/Pacific 1 v Europe 2


Sept 9 - Australia v Europe 1

Sept 10 - Wales v Fiji

Sept 16 - Wales v Qualifier Winner

Sept 17 - Australia v Fiji

Sept 23 - Europe 1 v Qualifier Winner

Sept 24 - Wales v Australia

Sept 30 - Fiji v Europe 1

Oct 1 - Australia v Qualifier Winner

Oct 7 - Wales v Europe 1

Oct 8 - Fiji v Qualifier Winner


Sept 9 - England v Argentina

Sept 10 - Japan v Americas 2

Sept 16 - Oceania 1 v Americas 2

Sept 17 - England v Japan

Sept 22 - Argentina v Oceania 1

Sept 23 - England v Americas 1

Sept 28 - Japan v Oceania 1

Sept 30 - Argentina v Americas 2

Oct 7 - England v Oceania 1

Oct 8 - Japan v Argentina


Oct 14 - Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D

Oct 14 - Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A

Oct 15 - Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C

Oct 15 - Winner Pool 4 v Runner-up Pool B


Oct 20 - Winner QF 1 v Winner QF 2

Oct 21 - Winner QF 3 v Winner QF 4


Oct 27 - Runner-up SF 1 v Runner-up SF 2


Oct 28 - Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2