Yorkshire golf: Headingley GC's Jon Hall sets record mark in club secretaries' Open Championship

HEADINGLEY GC's Jon Hall was an emphatic winner of the Golf Club Secretary 20th Open Championship at Royal West Norfolk GC, winning by no fewer than four points.
Headingley GC secretary Jon Hall receives his prize at Royal West Norfolk GC.Headingley GC secretary Jon Hall receives his prize at Royal West Norfolk GC.
Headingley GC secretary Jon Hall receives his prize at Royal West Norfolk GC.

Three-handicapper Hall put together a superb card on the links course on the North Norfolk coast for a one-under-par 70.

He had a birdie at the 449-yard par-4 second and quickly added a net birdie at the next before carding five consecutive pars.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A birdie at the eighth was worth four points for a net eagle as the 494-yard par-5 is SI one.

A slight stumble at the ninth saw a one-pointer on the card, but he still amassed 21pts on holes one to nine.

A birdie at the 316-yard par-4 13th was the prelude to his one poor hole of the round, a double bogey six at the 14th, but the damage was ameliorated as he received a shot.

He added a fourth birdie of the round at the 16th, and on the second nine accumulated 19pts for an aggregate total that was the best of the events 20 finals to date.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Runner-up with 36pts - which would have been a winning score in any other year - was 12-handicapper John Aughterlony (Rochester & Cobham Park GC).

Huddersfield GC's ladies' May Stableford competition was won by 34-handicapper Elaine Jenkinson with the aid of a superb closing flourish that saw her produce four finishing net birdies.

She had seven in all and totalled 42 points to win by five from Peta Oxley (23 handicap), who had three birdies and bested Jane Ali (36) on countback.

Ali had five birdies and an eagle, but her victory attempt was ultimately undermined by four single-point holes and a blank at the 11th immediately following her eagle at the 10th.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Twelve-handicapper Jessica Hosking won the nine-hole Stableford with 16pts, beating 19-handicapper Jessica Head on count back.

Ghyll GC's Derek Tattersall Memorial Trophy saw Gary Rowlands, playing off 13, accumulate five pars and four birdies as he shot an impressive 78-13- 65 to win. He placed one shot ahead of Division Three winner, Dan Inman (84-18- 66).

There was a four-man card play-off in Division One with Eliot Platt emerging victorious from Steve Mortimer (79-9- 70), Ian Graham (78-8- 70) and John Blackmore (77-7- 70).

Veteran Andy Wilkinson returned 79-12- 67 to take the Division Two honours.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Matt Stevens was the runaway junior scoring 50pts to hoist the John Dawson Trophy, with a subsequent handicap reduction of a staggering 15 shots.

Tom Nutter (43pts) was second, with Jake Barnes (38) third.

In the fourth ladies' medal of the season, Judith Blades marked her year as lady captain by topping the leader board with 111-36- 75.

Anne Preston (104-28-76) and Stephanie Robinson (91-14- 77) came second and third respectively.

Willow Valley GC's inaugural nine-hole competition, played on holes one to eight plus the 11th on the Championship course, saw George Pitt victorious with an excellent score of 18pts in difficult conditions.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

George Branch took first prize in the first class section of the fourth medal of the season with an excellent score of 74 net 68.

The winning score in the second class section was a net 70 from David Webster.

Willow Valley's second major of the year, the Williams Trophy, attracted a large field from which Laurence Balmforth emerged victorious with 42pts.

Runner-up with 38 was the previous day's medal winner Branch, a point clear of third-placed Paul Blakeley.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

After two events, Branch and Jeremy Bakes are tied at the top of the Major Order of Merit on 140pts.

Keighley GC's Mrs Sunderland's Prize was won by the team of Dianne Appleyard, Janet Vorster and Janet Clark with 71pts.

At the head of the field they bested Julie Theakston, Emma Watkinson and Joyce Yates by one and Cheryl Brown, Adele Mitchell and Jackie Starkie by four.

The Sir Frederick Butterfield Trophy was won by John Brooksbank and Bill Holder with a 62, on count back from Adele and Roger Mitchell.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The 8-15 Miller Trophy was lifted by Steven Barratt and Tim Quinlan, also on count back, from Paul Smith and Tom Smith, both carding 68.2 with Stephen Hinchcliffe and Ian Luccock just 0.2 further back in third.

Related topics: