Yorkshire golf: Matthew Wharldall quick to make major contribution

Matthew Wharldall with Rudding Park GC's Spring Cup.Matthew Wharldall with Rudding Park GC's Spring Cup.
Matthew Wharldall with Rudding Park GC's Spring Cup.
ELEVEN-year-old Matthew Wharldall has won a major competition at Rudding Park GC - at the first time of trying.

The 28-handicapper lifted the Spring Cup with 40 Stableford points thanks to a superior back nine after tieing with James Patterson (eight handicap) and James Pickard (14).

Early starter Patterson recorded a couple of birdies in his round as the difficulty of the course and breezy conditions brought the single-figure handicap players initially to the fore.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The course was playing even longer than its usual 6,900 yards from the competition tees and Patterson's score topped the overall leader board for much of the day.

However, Division Two players Wharldall and Pickard, playing towards the back of the field, moved alongside him on the 40pt mark with the former triumphing thanks to an inward half off 44 shots that gave him a points tally of 24 on the back nine.

Delighted Wharldall was awarded the title of 2016 Spring Cup champion - and a handicap reduction of two strokes.

Forest Park GC's Col Bullock and Dan Hattee produced a superb score of 62 to win the Sharp Trophy at Scarthingwell GC.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Alan Haworth and Steve Law (Malton & Norton GC) were the first pairing to break the 70 mark with a fine 69, but eventually finished in third place.

Ian Hussey and George Kitchen of the host club bettered that score by one and ultimately took second behind Bullock and Hattee.

The Bradford GC's Hanson Trophy saw James Tate win in Division One with 40pts, edging runner-up Robert Kennedy and third-placed James Wilson by one.

Division Two saw Dennis Child triumph by four points from second-placed Andrew Cooper and Alan Crosby in third thanks to a 42pt tally.

Carmel Zywicki (94-23-71) won the England Golf Medal, one shot clear of Brenda Sheard (89-17-72).

Michelle Priestley (89-11-78) won the ladies' medal from Carolyn Tate (101-19-82).

Related topics: