Wilkinson spinning into seventh heaven

ECB yorkshireHARROGATE suffered at the hands of Appleby Frodingham's late season form surge as openers Jaco Scholtz and Duncan Heath enjoyed a century stand.

Scholtz made 58, including 10 fours and a six, Heath carrying his bat for 56, containing 10 fours. Replying to Harrogate's 141 in 53.4 overs, Appleby Frodingham won by eight wickets in 24.4 overs.

Barnsley made it seven successive wins at Driffield Town with off-spinner Richard Wilkinson taking his tally of victims to 18 from his last three matches. After taking 6-58 against Cleethorpes and 7-56 against Scarborough, Wilkinson was again in top form, his seven overs bringing him 5-10 as Driffield were dismissed for 83 in 28 overs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

No 4 Ben Kohler-Cadmore was Driffield's top scorer with 22. Barnsley were 25-3 before Matthew Wilson (40no) and Henri Londt (29no).

Hull lost again, this time at Rotherham Town.

Batting first, Rotherham totalled 267-9, with Dan Allen's 97 containing eight fours and two sixes.

Gerhard Rudolph (42) and James Moorhouse (38) also made useful scores. When Hull batted, Ben Kirby hit a season's best 67, containing 12 boundaries, and Nigel Redfearn retired hurt having made 45.

Ben Sanderson, who took 8-31 the previous week at Castleford with his right-arm fast deliveries, gave another impressive performance with 5-37 off 16 overs as Rotherham won by 81 runs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

York continued their winning ways with visitors Sheffield United unable to offer much resistance. York felt confident enough to declare their innings at 280-5 after 53 overs and won by 154 runs.

Marcus Wood, batting at number seven, was York's top scorer with an undefeated 78 off just 47 balls.

Duncan Snell and Nick Kay also collected half-centuries but York slipped from 129-1 to 137-5 before Wood and Kay enjoyed an unbroken partnership of 143.

Daniel Woods bowled 15.2 overs for York, taking 5-46, and United were dismissed for 126, Rob Wade offering most resistance with 39.

The weather ruled out play at Cleethorpes against Castleford, Scarborough against Yorkshire Academy and Sheffield Collegiate against Doncaster Town.