Bailey Peacock-Farrell could miss Sheffield Wednesday game after joining Rotherham United and Middlesbrough players in Northern Ireland squad

Sheffield Wednesday could be without goalkeeper Bailey Peacock-Farrell against Cheltenham Town after he was named in Northern Ireland's squad for their March friendlies.

Peacock-Farrell is named along with Leeds United's Stuart Dallas, Middlesbrough's Paddy McNair and Rotherham United's Shane Ferguson for friendlies against Luxembourg on March 25, and Hungary on March 29.

Read More

Read More
Jordan Storey addresses his long-term future at Sheffield Wednesday

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Leeds and Middlesbrough do not play fixtures in the international break but League One clubs play through it, with the option to request a postponement if they have three players called up at full or senior international level.

CALL-UP: Northern Ireland have selected Bailey Peacock-Farrell, as expected

The Owls did not hit that threshold in October or November, causing Joe Wildsmith to deputise in goal. With seven games already pencilled in for April, they will have to weigh up the value of adding to that backlog if they are able to postpone against the value of Peacock-Farrell to the team.

The former Leeds goalkeeper who is on loan from Burnley has kept 13 league clean sheets this season, bettered only by Portsmouth's Gavin Bazunu. His call-up was fully expected as he is his country's first choice.

The Owls are due to host the Robins on March 26.

Rotherham's trip to Sunderland that day is expected to be called off because of the number of internationals on either side.

The trio could be up against Barnsley's Bury-born midfielder Callum Styles, who has been called into Hungary's squad. They also face Serbia.

Leeds winger Raphinha has also been called into Brazil's squad for their World Cup qualifiers.

NORTHERN IRELAND SQUAD: Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Sheffield Wednesday, on loan from Burnley), Conor Hazard (HJK Helsinki, on loan from Celtic), Luke Southwood (Reading); Craig Cathcart (Watford), Shane Ferguson (Rotherham United), Daniel Ballard (Millwall, on loan from Arsenal), Tom Flanagan (Shrewsbury Town), Ciaron Brown (Oxford United, on loan from Cardiff City), Conor Bradley (Liverpool), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Trai Hume (Sunderland); Steven Davis (Rangers), Niall McGinn (Dundee), Corry Evans (Sunderland), Stuart Dallas (Leeds United), George Saville (Millwall), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Alistair McCann (Preston North End), Patrick Lane (Fleetwood Town), Matthew Kennedy (Aberdeen), Liam Donnelly (Motherwell); Josh Magennis (Wigan Athletic), Gavin Whyte (Oxford United, on loan from Cardiff City), Dion Charles (Bolton Wanderers), Shayne Lavery (Blackpool).